Welcome


Great news -- the new collection of essays, entitled "As Simple As That," is scheduled to go on press shortly. If all goes well, we should have copies in late September. We would love to have you order a copy, but the ordering link is not quite ready to be activated. Please stop back in a week or so, and you should find a link to order. If you are a newsletter subscriber, you will receive an alert that the link is ready. If you are not a newsletter subscriber, now is a good time to sign up. Click "Mary's Farm" on the above menu for the free newsletter subscription.
We have scheduled a book launch to take place at the Chesham Church in Chesham (a part of Harrisville) NH on Saturday October 3 at 3 p.m. I will read from the collection and talk about the book and the process of having written these essays over the past 25 years. This is a career landmark for me and I'd love to have you help us celebrate. Please know that the church, one of my favorite buildings, has a limited capacity. Other events are being scheduled and will be posted here and published in the newsletter.

Here is some of the praise As Simple As That has already received from a few who had the manuscript in advance:

“Reading Edie is like listening to beautiful music.”
__Judson D. Hale, Sr.
Editor-in-chief of Yankee magazine and author of "The Education of a Yankee"

Delivered in an elegant style, these essays are lessons on how to live in small-town New England: kite flying on a frozen lake, ways to cook green tomatoes, keeping an old house, searching for a dog caught in a tornado, wood heat, coping with spring mud. Taken as whole, they are a philosophical inquiry into what some people call mindfulness. Clark teaches us how to pay attention to the moments that make up our lives. This is a beautiful book about love, grief, and the natural world. It reads like a how-to manual but feels like a lyric poem. I was deeply moved by it.
__ Ernest Hebert, author of "Howard Elman’s Farewell"

My only regret with As Simple As That is that it came to an end. Each essay is a narrative gem about the pleasures and duties of life on this planet, sharp-eyed and warm-hearted, as deeply rooted in the soil of New England as a Robert Frost poem.
__ Richard Adams Carey, author of "In the Evil Day"

Edie Clark’s Yankee column is a national treasure. This book glows with a life closely and kindly observed, days well-lived and well-loved. Reading this book will make you feel like you are sitting in her warm, sunny kitchen, listening to her tell you heart-warming, spell-binding stories.
__ Sy Montgomery, author of "The Soul of an Octopus"

Edie Clark’s clear-eyed and lyrical essays capture the essence of New England’s weather, seasons, landscape and wonderfully independent-minded natives the way Wendell Berry’s writing evokes the natural world of Kentucky. In the tradition of Frost, Thoreau, and Emily Dickinson, Ms. Clark shows us how the small and large satisfactions of living close to nature can inform life with grace, meaning, and beauty.
-- Howard Frank Mosher,
author of "God’s Kingdom"

I first met Edie Clark as a reader which introduced me to her quiet style, her sure eye for detail, and her compassion for the people she meets along the way. All of Edie’s writing breathes at the right rate. Her sentences have enough room in them for her readers to feel at home.
__ Howard Mansfield, author of "Dwelling in Possibility, Searching for the Soul of Shelter"



Here are notices about the most recent book, What There Was Not to Tell:

“In What There Was Not to Tell, Edie Clark sets out to fill in the details of the gaping hole that was created in her family’s life by the death of a man she never met. What she discovered is a riveting story that is tragic yet triumphant, uniquely personal yet universal. This is a surprising and thoroughly compelling tale of how a single casualty of war can set off chain reactions of heartbreaking loss, undying love, and unshakable loyalty across multiple generations. At the same time, it is an incredible piece of family detective work that keeps taking unexpected twists and turns.” – Dayton Duncan, author of The Dust Bowl and The National Parks: America's Best Idea

"An amazing account that will keep you turning the pages from beginning to end. Clark has written a thoughtful, interesting and gentle book that will capture your heart and your imagination, and perhaps make you think a little bit deeper about life, love and war."
-- Paul Collins, The (Nashua) Sunday Telegraph

“Haunting.” -- Tim Clark, Yankee magazine

“A moving book. Beautifully written.” – Rebecca Upjohn Snyder, author of The Last Loon

"In the letters, the word "death" appears nowhere. Astounding. This "not there" reverberates throughout the book. EC's story and perseverance takes us deeper and deeper and then even deeper."
--- Sandy Diamond, poet, playwright, author of The Hunchback; Miss Coffin and Mrs. Blood.

“A powerful story of love, war and the lingering effects of the tragedy of war that is as intimate as it is universal. With What There Was Not To Tell Edie Clark establishes herself as one of the premiere writers of memoir working today.”
–Rebecca Rule, author, columnist for the Concord Monitor.

“Clark writes this book with a gentle touch, and a bit of Tolstoy, as she deals with the anguish of lovers inflamed by love and World War II and maddened by the savagery of wartime. An extraordinary interweave of letter excerpts, military logs and narrative, revealing a love that can last longer than a world war.”
---Steve Sherman, Keene (NH) Sentinel

“In this story of love and loss, pain and poignancy, sorrow and stoicism, Clark weaves together a tapestry of conflicting emotions. What There Was Not To Tell reflects an important part of World War II that doesn’t get enough light shed on it: What happens after? What does coming home look like?”
---Jon Potter, Brattleboro (VT) Reformer

Selected as "book of the week" by the New Hampshire Library Assoc.

About the book:
My parents died in 1994, leaving me more than two thousand letters, written during World War II. To some extent, I knew the story of Tom but the letters allowed me to understand him within the context of that war, which I had never understood nor known much about. The name of the book comes from the fact that, whenever I asked my father to tell me about the war, he would answer, “There’s nothing much to tell.” The letters told me a great deal that my parents did not, not only about themselves but about that war and war, in general. Through reading the letters, I came to believe that my generation was deeply affected by World War II, without ever really knowing it. The silence of our fathers (and mothers) may be from unprocessed grief and the famous “generation gap” may have been a direct effect of our fathers’ service coupled with their inability to articulate what that war had meant and how much (how many) had been lost to accomplish what they did.

The book is in the form of an odyssey, finding not only Tom’s final (of four) resting place but also the description of his death, reconstructed from Air Corps records and memories of those who fought nearby. I use extracts of the letters to give voice to both my father and mother, as well as to Tom. These extracts interspersed with my memories, thoughts and revelations as I make this journey into a past I never knew.

I've posted all the readings (constantly updating) I have lined up to present this book, which was more than 15 years in the making. For me, this book is a complete labor of love, a quest to unlock the secrets my parents held until their deaths. As a result of reading their letters, I know now what I wish I had known, growing up. I never understood them in the way that I do now and it is with great sadness that I remember my impatience with them, their odd choices in life, their particular habits. I had no way of knowing that what shaped them was a war that I never knew. I know it now and want to share what I have learned from the long quest to find what Tom meant to both my mother and my father. It wasn't what I thought. I hope you will read the book with interest, for your own quests. I am confident in saying that you've ever read a book about World War II like this one. Thank you for following my work. It means so much to me.

I hope you enjoy what else you find on this website. Do let me hear from you if you have any suggestions, thoughts, or complaints. Thank you so much for visiting. Over the years I’ve come to realize that what matters more than anything, more than the publishers, more than the editors, more than the checks they pay me, what matters most are my readers.


Selected Works

Articles
In 1992, the Bishop of Worcester condemned St. Joseph's Catholic Church and ordered it closed. The parishioners refused to leave, sleeping on cots and on the hard pews. For thirteen months this was their life. In July of 1993, they were removed by the police. In many ways this was the blossoming of their faith. Originally published in Yankee Magazine in November 1993.
Growing up, nothing I could do seemed to please my mother and nothing she said made sense to me. But when my mother, on the threshold of death, came to live with me, I found what seemed to have been lost forever. Originally published in Yankee Magazine, May 1995
(The follow-up article to Miracle at St. Joseph's.) The Bishop turned to them and said, "Your prayers have been answered, the hard hearts have softened." Originally published in Yankee Magazine, December 1996
A reflection on the power of cooking and friendship and the concept of family. Originally published in Yankee Magazine, November/December 2007
Memorial Day, Harrisville, New Hampshire 1995. Originally published in Yankee Magazine, May 1996
My Articles
Libraries occupy a special place in the heart of a town. Evening events at the library give a strong sense of community and make it seem like a great place to live. And in the wake of the online revolution small town libraries have found a way to not only survive but to be indispensable.
In December 2008 an epic ice storm left virtually the entire state of New Hampshire without power. The residual effects of that storm paralyzed the Monadnock Region almost through Christmas. A first person account.
In 1994, sixteen-year-old Billy Best was diagnosed with Hodgkin's Disease. After several treatments, he ran away to avoid chemotherapy. What happened after that may have been a miracle.
Roxanne Quimby once lived primitively in the Maine woods. Today she owns 90,000 acres of those woods, and her goal is to create a national park to preserve the landscape forever. So why do so many people wish she'd just go away?
Multi-million dollar border stations are rising along our line between US and Canada. What was once the "friendliest border" has become deadly serious.
Renowned short story writer, Andre Dubus, reflects on the accident that cost him his legs.
A trip to Poland discovers a beloved family friend
An elegy for the master of the short story.
Fall comes to The County
Thousands seek healing from this innocent, comatose child.
A complete listing of articles published since 1978
Fiction
An encounter with a sick fox brings a young woman to the heart of her grief